Permitted list with conditionsBinding ruleGBOriginal is EnglishOfficial-source import checked

77266 (nano)Carbon Black (nano)

The consolidated GB Cosmetics Regulation lists this record in Annex IV.

Regulatory decision and full conditions

Status
Permitted list with conditions
Legal role
Binding rule
Regulatory summary
The consolidated GB Cosmetics Regulation lists this record in Annex IV.
Conditions and restrictions
10% · Not to be used in applications that may lead to exposure of the end user's lungs by inhalation. Only nanomaterials having the following characteristics are allowed: Purity > 97%, with the following impurity profile: Ash content ≤ 0,15%, total sulphur ≤ 0,65%, total PAH ≤ 500 ppb and benzo(a)pyrene ≤ 5 ppb, dibenz(a,h)anthracene ≤ 5 ppb, total As ≤ 3 ppm, total Pb ≤ 10 ppm, and total Hg ≤ 1 ppm; Primary particle size ≥ 20 nm.

Substance identity

Official source name
77266 (nano)Carbon Black (nano)
CAS
1333-86-4; 7440-44-0
EC
215-609-9; 231-153-3; 931-328-0; 931-334-3
Identity mapping
cas_number
Linked ingredient
CARBON

Linked CosIng identity data

Names and aliases

CARBON

CosIng description: Carbon is an amorphous form of elemental carbon.

Recorded cosmetic function: NOT REPORTED

Function pages:NOT REPORTED

View the complete ingredient profile

Cross-market snapshot for this identity

Exact linked records currently present in this site. An absent market means no imported exact match, not permission to use the substance.

4 market datasets

European Union

Positive-list entry with conditions

3 linked records · 2 with specific conditions

Open supporting record

Great Britain

Current record
Permitted list with conditions

2 linked records · 2 with specific conditions

Open supporting record
PubChem 2D chemical structure for CAS 1333-86-4
CAS 1333-86-4PubChem CID 5462310

Verified chemistry for CAS 1333-86-4

Carbon

IUPAC name
methane
Molecular formula
C
Molecular weight
12.011 g/mol
Exact mass
12 Da
Monoisotopic mass
12 Da
XLogP3
0.6
Topological polar surface area
0.0 Ų
Molecular complexity
0.0
Formal charge
0
Hydrogen-bond donors
0
Hydrogen-bond acceptors
0
Rotatable bonds
0
Heavy atoms
1
Covalent units
1

Names and synonyms reported to PubChem

Elemental CarbonCarbon, VitreousCarbon 12SUPERSORBON S1RefChem:66979CHEBI:33415231-153-3610-410-7
16 more reported names
05105_FLUKA05110_FLUKA05112_FLUKA05113_FLUKA05120_FLUKA05123_FLUKA1343-03-91399-57-1161551_SIAL16291-96-6 (Parent)18002_RIEDEL18002_SUPELCO18006_RIEDEL18008_RIEDEL18008_SIAL22874_FLUKA
Advanced structure statistics
Defined atom stereocentres
0
Undefined atom stereocentres
0
Defined bond stereocentres
0
Undefined bond stereocentres
0
3D conformers
0
Machine-readable structure identifiers
SMILES
[C]
InChI
InChI=1S/C
InChIKey
OKTJSMMVPCPJKN-UHFFFAOYSA-N

Retrieved from NIH PubChem on 2026-08-31 by checksum-valid CAS matching. Chemical properties do not replace the regulatory decision on this page.

PubChem 2D chemical structure for CAS 7440-44-0
CAS 7440-44-0PubChem CID 5462310

Verified chemistry for CAS 7440-44-0

Carbon

IUPAC name
methane
Molecular formula
C
Molecular weight
12.011 g/mol
Exact mass
12 Da
Monoisotopic mass
12 Da
XLogP3
0.6
Topological polar surface area
0.0 Ų
Molecular complexity
0.0
Formal charge
0
Hydrogen-bond donors
0
Hydrogen-bond acceptors
0
Rotatable bonds
0
Heavy atoms
1
Covalent units
1

Names and synonyms reported to PubChem

Elemental CarbonCarbon, VitreousCarbon 12SUPERSORBON S1RefChem:66979CHEBI:33415231-153-3610-410-7
16 more reported names
05105_FLUKA05110_FLUKA05112_FLUKA05113_FLUKA05120_FLUKA05123_FLUKA1333-86-41343-03-91399-57-1161551_SIAL16291-96-6 (Parent)18002_RIEDEL18002_SUPELCO18006_RIEDEL18008_RIEDEL18008_SIAL
Advanced structure statistics
Defined atom stereocentres
0
Undefined atom stereocentres
0
Defined bond stereocentres
0
Undefined bond stereocentres
0
3D conformers
0
Machine-readable structure identifiers
SMILES
[C]
InChI
InChI=1S/C
InChIKey
OKTJSMMVPCPJKN-UHFFFAOYSA-N

Retrieved from NIH PubChem on 2026-08-31 by checksum-valid CAS matching. Chemical properties do not replace the regulatory decision on this page.

Official source and provenance

Registered source
Great Britain Cosmetics Regulation — consolidated Annexes II–VI and amendments
Source reference
GB Cosmetics Regulation, Annex IV, entry 126a
Source record ID
IV-126a
Source version
2026-08-15
Source language
English
Translation status
Original is English
Effective date
2026-08-15
Source updated
2026-08-19
Snapshot checked
2026-08-30 04:51 UTC
Validation method
legislation.gov.uk XML table parse; {'II': 1758, 'III': 326, 'IV': 154, 'V': 57, 'VI': 34}
SHA-256
e3a386d950f54c6e7a7f9e784d1bd46e52de725137e89d5630709824475215d8

Registered dataset notes

Dataset coverage
Complete consolidated GB Annexes II–VI, with later amendments versioned separately
Authority note
Binding GB schedules and versioned amendments to retained Regulation 1223/2009; applies to England, Wales and Scotland, not Northern Ireland
Source licence
Open Government Licence v3.0 / Crown copyright
Attribution
Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

How this record fits the market dataset

2329
current Great Britain records
245
records marked Permitted list with conditions
2329
records from this source version
2015
market records with CAS identity

Status distribution

Condition text is present on 517 of 2329 current records. An empty condition field is interpreted according to the record type above; it is never converted into an unrestricted-use claim.

Great Britain market context

Complete consolidated annex dataset

Coverage version: GB retained Regulation 1223/2009 schedules, effective 15 August 2026

Current consolidated Annexes II–VI for England, Scotland and Wales.

Verification checklist

  1. Confirm INCI/CAS/EC identity.
  2. Review every current GB Annex II–VI match.
  3. Check commencement dates and later statutory instruments.
  4. Verify SCPN, responsible-person, safety-report and labelling duties.

Official market sources

Verification workflow and record completeness

Before using this result in a compliance decision

  1. Confirm that “77266 (nano)Carbon Black (nano)” and every CAS/EC identifier refer to the material in your supplier specification.
  2. Confirm INCI/CAS/EC identity.
  3. Review every current GB Annex II–VI match.
  4. Check commencement dates and later statutory instruments.
  5. Verify SCPN, responsible-person, safety-report and labelling duties.
  6. Document the source version and recheck the regulator before manufacture, notification or market placement.

Fields available in this record

  • Official substance nameAvailable
  • CASAvailable
  • ECAvailable
  • Separate condition textAvailable
  • Effective dateAvailable
  • Snapshot hash and methodAvailable

Questions this page answers

This identity appears on a market positive list for the list function represented by the source record. Confirm that the intended function and product use fall within the list scope and every stated condition.

Positive-list presence is purpose-specific and is not blanket approval for every cosmetic use. No annex match is not approval and does not cover Northern Ireland, which follows the applicable EU framework.

The record cites GB Cosmetics Regulation, Annex IV, entry 126a, source version 2026-08-15. Open the official source.

No. CAS helps resolve identity, but jurisdictions can classify the same substance differently and can apply different product scopes, limits, warnings and transition dates.

Stable citation

77266 (nano)Carbon Black (nano). GB Cosmetics Regulation, Annex IV, entry 126a. Great Britain. Source version 2026-08-15. CosIng Checker regulatory record: https://cosingchecker.com/regulations/gb/records/6568/

Cite the regulator as the legal authority. This page is a structured evidence index and verification aid, not a substitute for the official text or professional legal assessment.

Interpretation and limits for Great Britain

This identity appears on a market positive list for the list function represented by the source record.

Confirm that the intended function and product use fall within the list scope and every stated condition.

How to interpret the legal role

The cited row forms part of a binding rule or legally incorporated list for this market.

Evidence on this page

  • Recorded outcome: Permitted list with conditions
  • Legal role: Binding rule
  • Source version: 2026-08-15
  • Effective date: 2026-08-15

What it does not prove

No annex match is not approval and does not cover Northern Ireland, which follows the applicable EU framework.

Further authoritative substance research

These sources can add identity, safety, exposure or hazard context. A link is not evidence that the database contains this exact substance, and none of these sources overrides the market decision above.

Cosmetic Ingredient Review safety assessments

Expert Panel conclusions, assessed ingredient groups, use conditions, dates and report documents

Independent expert review considered by FDA; not a government approval or binding market rule

Research this identity at the source

FDA Global Substance Registration System

UNII identifiers, preferred names, substance types, codes and public substance relationships

Identity registry only; UNII availability does not imply FDA review or approval

Research this identity at the source

ILO/WHO International Chemical Safety Cards

Hazards, symptoms, first aid, storage, incompatibilities and physical properties for covered chemicals

International occupational chemical-safety reference; not cosmetic-use approval

Research this identity at the source

Japan NITE-CHRIP

Chemical identity, Japanese and foreign legal lists, GHS hazards and exposure-related information

Chemical-management evidence; cosmetic status remains governed by the applicable MHLW standard and market rules

Research this identity at the source

NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards

REL, PEL, IDLH, properties, exposure routes, symptoms, target organs, first aid and measurement methods for covered workplace chemicals

US occupational-health guidance and limits; not a cosmetic ingredient decision

Research this identity at the source

OECD eChemPortal

Gateway to authority-owned physical-property, fate, ecotoxicity, toxicity, exposure and GHS records

Discovery gateway; each linked authority remains responsible for its data

Research this identity at the source

US EPA CompTox CTX APIs

API key required for import

DTXSID identity, experimental and predicted properties, toxicity, bioactivity, exposure and environmental data

Scientific and computational evidence; predictions must remain labelled and do not determine cosmetic legality

Research this identity at the source